Felonies are serious crimes, and if you find yourself charged with a felony, you should get in touch with a felony defense attorney in Cedar Park or Round Rock as quickly as possible. At Jackson Law Firm, we specialize in felonies. If you think the offense you committed isn’t that serious, then consider this: the smallest felony could earn you a conviction of up to 2 years in a county jail or a penalty of $10,000. You definitely don’t want your record scarred by a felony conviction.
It is ill-advised to ignore a felony charge made against you. A conviction can have far-reaching consequences. The Jackson Law Firm is dedicated to helping people charged with crimes. We will review your case and advice on the way forward.
In Texas, a crime is either classified as a misdemeanor or a felony. A felony is the more serious of the two. If convicted of a felony in Texas then you must serve your sentence in a state prison or jail. Less serious crimes are served in county jails. You can classify a felony in Texas as follows: capital felony, a first-degree felony, a second-degree felony, a third-degree felony or a state jail felony.
Examples of Crimes which are Considered Felonies in Texas
The following are considered felonies in Texas, and if you are charged with any of them, then you need a felony defense lawyer.
The Jackson law firm can represent you in any of these felony charges.
Felony Classifications in the State of Texas
A capital felony is the worst of the four classes of felonies in Williamson County. An example of this is Murder. You can either be given the death penalty or life imprisonment without parole. If a juvenile commits a capital felony, they are usually given life imprisonment without any chance of parole.
A first-degree felony although quite serious is not considered as serious as murder. A good example of a felony in this class is Injury to a Child. You face between 5 and 99 years in prison for such a felony. You could also be fined in excess of $10,000.
A Drug Charge is considered a third-degree felony. This is punishable by imprisonment of up to 10 years. It also attracts penalties of up to $10,000.
If you commit a felony which cannot be described as any of the above but is also too serious to be considered a misdemeanor, then you will be charged with a state jail felony. This could get you up to 2 years in a state prison. You could also be fined up to $ 10,000.
Petty theft is considered a misdemeanor charge. If the theft involved firearms or livestock worth over $20,000, then you will be charged with a state jail felony. Call The Jackson Law Firm Today, if facing a felony charge.
Penalties Given to Habitual and Repeat Felony Offenders
The Texas Penal Code that deals with repeat and habitual offenders of felonies gives strict penalties and sentences for them.
A few examples include the following.
If you have previously been charged with a felony other than a state felony, and are being charged with a first-degree felony, you could face a prison sentence of up to 99 years or penalties of up to $10,000.
If you are being charged with a second-degree felony and have been convicted of a felony before, excluding a state felony, then you will be convicted of a first-degree felony and could be imprisoned for 5 to 99 years or pay penalties of up to $ 10,000.
If you are currently being charged with a state jail felony for the third time around, the charge may be upgraded to a third-degree felony. You, therefore, face a higher prison sentence and are moved from county jail to a state jail or prison.
If you have previously committed a first, second or third-degree felony and are currently being convicted of a third-degree felony, you could be convicted of a second-degree felony instead of the third-degree felony.
As evidenced, felonies are serious crimes with serious consequences. You need a good felony defense attorney who knows what they are doing to provide the best defense for you.
Don’t wait till it’s too late. Get in touch with Jackson law Firm today.